Skip to content
Map & Directions Contact us

History of the Thoracic Aortic Aneurysm Service

The Thoracic Aortic Aneurysm Service current service is the end result of the efforts and stewardship of a number of surgeons and anaesthetists over the last two decades including those currently in post as well as those retired or moved on: 

  • Mr Ian Weir
  • Mr Peter Harris
  • Mr Abbas Rashid
  • Dr Glenn Russell
  • Dr Michael Desmond
  • Professor Aung Oo 

In the early years the service amounted to a specialist interest and pioneering development of safe and sustainable anaesthetic and surgical techniques. With time a specialist clinic (Thoracic Aortic Aneurysm Clinic) evolved and a specialist hybrid theatre was commissioned. The hybrid theatre allows for combined procedures with stents and surgery. 

Please follow link for a description of the state of the service in 2002.

In 2007 the service became more formally organised with specialisation of 3 surgeons within the department, led by Mr Rashid, who became responsible for performing all urgent and emergency aortic surgery as well as most of the elective activity. The service subsequently expanded to 5 surgeons formally employed to contribute to the Aortic Service, led by Mr Oo then Mr Kuduvalli and presently Mr Field.

As surgery became more complex our anaesthetic colleagues became more specialised in techniques  to help keep patients safe. In addition,  the wider team was developed including Aortic Advanced Nurse Practitioners, MEP technicians (measure function of the spinal cord), Clinical Perfusionists, Surgical Care Practitioners and Theatre and ITU nurses. 

The team has now evolved into a mature service with depth and robustness that functions 365 days per year independent of any one individuals absence.

Clinical Leads for Aortic Surgery since formalisation in 2007  

  • Abbas Rashid, 2007-2009
  • Aung Oo, 2009-2015
  • Manoj Kuduvalli, 2015-2017
  • Mark Field, 2017 - present